Day Five - Tsukiji Jishou Fish Market
We woke up at 3:30 am thinking we could go to the fish auction at 5, we forgot to think that the trains wouldn't have operated that early. So back to our room it was and waited for the earliest train. We left our hotel at 4:30 am and it was silent, the difference between the day is incredible.
The street was barren and crossing was empty, it you didn't know the time you would have thought everyone just disappeared.
Look at how empty the train is!!
And a dude was already reading newspaper.
We saw the driver coming in
Surprisingly it was getting busy at the Daimon stations, and we some of these folks getting off at the fish market too.
We arrive early in the morning, at like freakin 4 am!!! It was already busy as, fisherman unpacking their fish, and people driving carts and mini vans at amazing speeds.
Stands were being set up, some has already started their shopping
By the time we got there, it was already too late. We missed out on the fish auctions, cause they only let in 120 people per day, and that included tourists as well. So we were disappointed but then heard another shocking fact that we have to wait until 9 o'clock until the normal fish market open!!!
And so started the longest wait of my life, freakin 4 and half hours was waiting and aimlessly walking around!!! So we decided to walk around the town and look at the outside shops and scenes.
Lol that face!
It was cool to walk around the surrounding shops, cause people look at us funny.
Gotta try out some long legged crab!!! so sweet !!!
And the sun finally woke up, we were about to freeze to death.
It was finally nine o'clock and the normal market was opening, and finally were we let in. We were tired, but excited at the same time it was weird feeling.
By ten o'clock, most of the goods has already been sold or packaged to be shipped to some restaurant around the country.
All the fisherman had great knife skills, they look like they could be high end Japanese cuisine chiefs.
That poster at the back!!
on the way back to our hotel, we bought some Tamagoyaki to eat since we were so hungry.
And wow was it a tiring morning, but it was totally worth it to wake up at three thirty in the morning. But I would have loved to actually go into the fish auction inside, so waiting outside wouldn't have been so tiring.
Comments
Post a Comment